Are there any other zones except the 30-km zone?

During 1991–1995, in accordance with requirements of the existing legislation (the Law of Ukraine “On Status and Social Protection of Population Suffered from the Chornobyl Catastrophe” of February 28, 1991 No.796-ХІІ, Clause 2. Specify the categories of zones of radioactive contaminated territories) the territory was divided into the following zones of radioactive contamination:

  1. Exclusion Zone, the territory,  from which population was evacuated in 1986.
  2. Zone of Absolute (Obligatory) Resettlement, the territory, which was subject to intensive contamination with long-lived radionuclides.
  3. Zone of Guaranteed Voluntary Resettlement.
  4. Zone of Extensive Radioecological Monitoring.

These zones include 2293 settlements of 20 regions, which were subject to high contamination as a result of the Chornobyl catastrophe. They are: Vinnitsa, Volyn’, Zhitomir, Ivano-Frankivs’k, Kyiv, Rivne, Sumy, Ternopil’, Khmel’nytsk, Cherkassy, Chernivtsi, and Chernihiv Regions.

Below are the criteria of the territories subject to radioactive contamination:



Dose criterion ,


Density of territory contamination ,

Ci / km 2


Cesium isotopes

Strontium isotopes

Plutonium isotopes


Exclusion Zone The territory, from which population was evacuated in 1986


Zone of Absolute (Obligatory) Resettlement

More than 5.0 More than 15.0 More than 3.0 More than 0.1


Zone of Guaranteed Voluntary Resettlement

1.0 – 5.0 5.0 ‑ 15 0.15 – 3.0 0.01 – 0.1


Zone of Extensive Radioecological Monitoring

0.5 – 1.0 1.0 – 5.0 0.02 – 0.15 0.005 – 0.01
Previous Article
Next Article